U.S. Small Business Administration Announces 2013 Rhode Island Small Business Award Winners

PROVIDENCE, RI – The U.S. Small Business Administration has announced the 2013 Rhode Island small business award winners.  The honorees include Brenda Brock, founder and CEO of Farmaesthetics, as the Small Business Person of the Year.  The list includes four regional award winners. They will be honored during the annual Rhode Island Salute to Small Business awards luncheon on June 12th at the Alpine Country Club in Cranston.

The SBA awards are presented in 9 categories. The Rhode Island SCORE chapter also presents an award.  The honorees are:

  • Rhode Island Small Business Person of the Year: Brenda Brock, Founder and CEO, Farmaesthetics, Newport Rhode Island and New England
  • Entrepreneurial Success Award: David MacDonald, Founder/CEO, The Children’s Workshop, Cumberland
  • Rhode Island and New England Veteran-owned Small Business of the Year: Gerald Barry, Chairman of the Board, MEDfx Corporation, Warwick
  • Rhode Island and New England Microenterprise of the Year: Dr. Drew Carey, Principal, CoastalVision, Newport
  • Rhode Island and New England Financial Services Champion of the Year: Robert Mancini, Executive Director, R.I. Society of Certified Public Accountants
  • Rhode Island Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Small Business of the Year: Antonio Fonseca, Vincent Fonseca, Owners, Packaging & More, Central Falls
  • Rhode Island Women-owned Small Business of the Year: Elizabeth Yuill, President, Brown & Hopkins Country Store, Chepachet
  • Rhode Island SBA Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Jeshua Zapata, President, Xzito Creative Solutions, Johnston
  • Rhode Island SBA District Director Award: Gary Ezovski, Owner, Lincoln Environmental Properties, North Smithfield and Ronald Caniglia, Owner, STAND Corporation, Warwick
  • Joseph G.E. Knight Award for Entrepreneurial Excellence (Presented by Rhode Island SCORE Chapter): Jeanne Salisbury, President, Minuteman Press, Pawtucket

“I congratulate the Rhode Island and regional small business award winners,” said Mark S. Hayward, director of the SBA Rhode Island District Office.  “From the dozens of nominations received each year, we consider these the ‘best-of-the-best.’ Their hard work and demonstrated success are worthy of this recognition.”

Brock, will now compete for the National Small Person of the Year Award, which will be announced  in Washington, D.C. on June 17th.  The Rhode Island Salute to Small Business celebration will be held the week of June 10-14.  Local events planned include a series of professional development workshops.  The highlight of the week is the awards luncheon on June 12th.

For more information visit www.sba.gov/ri and click on the 2013 RI Small Business Week Awards Luncheon link near the bottom of the home page.

Leave a comment

Avatar About the Author: The Rhode Island Small Business Journal is a printed monthly magazine and an online resource for the aspiring and start-up entrepreneur and small business owner.

previous arrow
next arrow